Hello all

So every January I get myself a Terramundi Money Pot (www.terramundi.co.uk), one of those gorgeous ceramic money boxes that you need to break to gain access to the money.

Previously I’ve put 20p pieces in them but this year I decided to go big and put £1 coins in. I was hard on myself; even if I was running low on money, if I had a £1 it had to go in. Sometimes it hurt, sometimes I found myself putting in £5 at a time. Not good when your choice of menu is either baked beans or cat food. I would dream about what it would be like to have some toast with my baked beans. Oh, and ketchup, that would have been nice.

Well, today, nearly a year after I started saving, the pot is full up and it’s time for the fun bit, the bit with the hammer, the bit where you get covered in dust, the bit that causes the neighbours to consider calling the police to report possible domestic violence, the bit that finds you cackling in glee as you randomly throw coins in the air (which, for the record, hurt when they land on your head, a fact Rio Ferdinand can confirm).

Before

Before

I grabbed a pillow to muffle the sound of the hammer connecting with the pot and ended up doubled over with laughter as the first two attempts just bounced off the completely unscathed pot. I really, really must get down the gym more often.

After

After

Anyway, total annihilation complete I began the process of counting the money and bagging it up. £588 later I finally finished. That works out at around a saving of £50 a month without it even registering. Not a bad way of getting some money together.

So now I’m off to pay it into my account. If you go to the bank and see me in the queue in front of you, you may want to go and do something else for a while, perhaps take a holiday, as I may well be some time…

