Well, it’s been another expensive week at the vets.

They both had to go back for blood tests on Friday and Munch, being the diva that she is, threw a complete hissy fit and wouldn’t let the nice lady vet get anywhere near her (again).

So this morning I had to take her back and leave her there to be sedated so they could take her bloods. Munch, one day you will learn that the vet always wins.

Of course, I had the usual issue of not being allowed to give her breakfast and I could hardly feed Scooby without feeding her could I, so he had to wait too. You could tell their personalities just by the looks on their faces when they realised this. There’s Munch with her ‘WTF! Where’s my breakfast b***h? If I had opposable thumbs I wouldn’t even need you. Give me my food NOW!’ look and Scooby with his ‘What have I done? I’m sorry, I won’t do it again, please don’t stop loving me’ look.

When I came back from the vet empty handed, Scooby’s look changed more to ‘Damn, I am going to be a good cat. If I’m not she will put me in a basket and I’ll never be seen again’. In fact, he ran away from me any time I went near him. So, no doubt he was glad when she got home although she wasn’t quite so happy, she wobbled all over the place and didn’t even eat her food – jeez, she must have felt rough.

But my main grizzle today is that we wouldn’t be doing all these trips if the authorities spoke to each other a little more often. It definately seems like the left hand doesn’t know what the right hand is doing. There’s DEFRA (Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs) telling me we don’t need to do blood tests and the pet courier company saying we do. It took me about a week to get a definitive answer and it turns out the Turkish authorities have changed their rules recently but haven’t got round to telling DEFRA. I knew I should have trusted the courier lady right from the start.

But I’m going to cling to the fact that my two vets have the surnames of Hope and Lovely and that my courier lady’s surname is Bunny (not sure what came first, the job or the surname!) – that’s got to be a sign. Right?

Part of my thinks that if I didn’t have the cats I could have been there already and thus avoid the snow that is blanketing England. But the bigger part of me knows that I wouldn’t dream about leaving them behind and that my life out there wouldn’t be complete without them getting under my feet and leaving cat hair in my food.

I guess it’s official, I guess I’ve known it for a long time, but I really am a mad cat lady…

Sian, cat whisperer

Sian, cat whisperer

And…hot off the press…just minutes ago I got confirmation of my travel date. 15th April. Woo hoo.

Damn. It’s real. I’m really going. PANIC!

