The best way to prepare for life is to begin to live”

Elbert Hubbard

Well, that’s it….yesterday was my last day working full time. And apparantly the first day of the rest of my life is going to start with a hangover. Thank you to all my work buddies, past and present, who came out for a few beers to say farewell to my old life. I don’t think I embarrassed myself and I don’t think I propositioned anyone, but I can’t be 100% sure. At least I didn’t come home with any men’s trouser belts which is unusual if my past history is anything to go by…jeez, I’ve just made myself sound very slutty there – I would like to point out that I just have a fascination with collecting trouser belts when I am under the influence, the fascination doesn’t usually stretch to the men wearing them – my worst (best?) works night out consisted of 6 belts and a very embarrassed all staff email the following morning…ahh, the memories.

So, anyway, where was I? Ah yes…thank you. Thank you also for the gifts which included an inflatable fireman, a willy mug, cat toys, a Ryan Gosling colouring book and a Kindle Fire.

Now there is no more getting up at 5.45am, no more fixing photocopiers, no more removing food from the fridge that had started it’s own eco system, no more changing flight tickets 20 minutes before the flight (or in some cases after), no more false smiles when people ask me daft questions (you know who you are) and no more regular pay packet (bugger).

And sadly no more opportunities to spend my days with a great bunch of people, many of whom will go on to be life long friends (for at least as long as I have an apartment in Turkey anyway!), no more daily banter, no more daily laughs, no more games of ‘hide the banana’ (note: this is not a euphemism but merely a way of making use of any left over fruit from the kitchen!).

I’ll miss all the people I’ve worked and laughed with over the last 3 years – Julie, Terry, Kelly, Jenny, Libby and loads of other people with names not necessarily ending in ‘ee’ and I hope they’ll miss me and even my habit of telling them to sit up straight and to say please and thank you despite the fact that they are all fully grown, responsible adults.

I have to say, not having a routine is going to be very strange and I worry that my new routine might start to involve Cadbury’s Chocolate Fingers for breakfast, a onesie as my uniform of choice, and an overdose of daytime TV – if it looks like I am heading that way, please rescue me, or shoot me, your choice.

Right, well must get on, things to do, people to see…

Cheers!

Cheers!

