Me aged around 5, wasn't I adorable?

Me aged around 5, wasn’t I adorable?

Today is my 43rd birthday. I’m not sure how that happened as I am convinced I was only 22 when I went to bed last night.

But the last four and a bit decades have been pretty good to me. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had my tough moments. I’ve lived with asthma all my life, I left home when I was 17 as I didn’t get on with my stepdad, my relationship with my own father wasn’t (and still isn’t) a lot better, I sat through an entire Britney Spears concert (without earplugs), I don’t often see 2 of my 3 siblings, all my grandparents have passed away and I’ve got a failed marriage behind me.

However I am a strong believer in the fact that it is the tough times that make you the person you are today. And today I like who I am. I am independent, self reliant, maybe a bit too cynical, debt free, honest, healthy and happy. I’ve only got a small circle of friends but I love each and every one of them dearly and I hope they feel the same way. My mother is also healthy and happy and I have a fantastic relationship with the sibling I do still see. I’ve had great opportunities to see the world and to do things many people can only dream about. And, of course, I have 2 cats whom I adore and who constantly bully me.

Cats

Conserving their energy so they can hassle me at 5am

And I hope today is merely the half way point in my life. It is certainly the point where I am making the biggest change I’ve ever done. In exactly one month’s time I will be packing up the cats and leaving these shores, having sold pretty much everything I have. I’ll be leaving behind family and long term friends and habits and customs that I am familiar with. I’ll be starting again in a country that has a completely different way of life, not to mention a completely different weather system. I will only know 2, yes 2, people out of a population of nearly 74m, I’ll be waking up to the sound of chickens and the call to prayer every day and I’ll be learning a new language (probably quite badly!).

But, since joining the world of blogging and reading other blogs, I’ve realised exactly how much sadness there is in the world. Of course I know there are billions of people who worry about where their next meal will come from, who don’t know if their family are alive or dead, who don’t know if they are going to see another sunrise. But I never realised quite how many people there are out there who are upset, confused, angry, hating themselves, hoping to find a direction in life.

This has made me all the more determined to enjoy every experience I can in life, grab all opportunities by the nuts and, most importantly to write about them in a way that will make you, my blogging friends, smile, chuckle, laugh out loud even – if I can cheer up just one person then I’ve done a good job.

As Helen Keller said “Life is either a daring adventure or nothing”. Well, I’m not quite ready for nothing so I’m going to blow out those birthday candles and start packing…

Woo Hoo! Let's Get Living

Woo Hoo! I’m Alive!

