DSCN0127

Yesterday I spent 5 hours rejoicing in a guilty pleasure of mine. Any Americans reading this will wonder why this is a guilty pleasure as where they live this passion is embraced, people do it in public, the pleasure providers are worshipped and honoured with great recognition. But in the UK it is talked about in hushed tones, only enjoyed in the privacy of our living rooms, rarely admitted to anyone outside our small social circles.

But today, right now, I’m going to come out of the closet, or maybe I should say barn, and admit, here, in print, that I LOVE country music. Ok. There,  I’ve said it. The signs have always been there – cowboy boots as my preferred choice of footwear, a love of men in tight trousers, a fascination with trucks, the occasional thigh slap and muttered ‘yee haw’ when I successfully fix a photocopier.

Last night I came together with 15,000 likeminded sinners at the O2 and watched not one, but four, country artists – Kristian Bush, Little Big Town, Vince Gill, and headliner Tim McGraw. For the non-American’s, Tim (as I now feel I can call him) has sold 40m albums, had 33 number one singles and won 39 awards so for him to come and visit little ole England was an event worth coming out of hiding for. Not only that but I was really close to the front and could see the sweat as it trickled down his biceps. I was with my mum, who is the reason I so like the genre – I suspect I knew all the words to Rhinestone Cowboy before I even left the womb – and we commented on the fact he was wearing leather trousers and that he must feel a bit, erm, damp ‘down there’- my mother followed this up with ‘yes, like the rest of us (giggle,snort)’. That sentence is a sentence I will never unhear my own mother say and I may need counselling to recover from it.

Anyway, there it is, my confession. I feel cleansed, lighter, happier and now I’m going to sit and relive the moment Tim looked directly at me and smilled. I’m sure he did…

Little Big Town

Little Big Town

Vince Gill

Vince Gill

Tim McGraw - he is DEFINATELY looking at me!

Tim McGraw – he is DEFINATELY looking at me!

Tim McGraw

Tim McGraw

Out. Proud. Got the t-shirt

Out. Proud. Got the t-shirt

