Yesterday I took a significant step towards a more permanent lifestyle here in Fethiye and, with the help of my dashing translator, signed a one year rental agreement on the apartment I am living in.

I therefore thought I’d take a moment to share with you a few details about this lovely little apartment I now call home. I say little but it is a lot bigger than the one I lived in in the UK.

It has two double bedrooms, two balconies and a shower big enough to fit the entire Fethiye football team in (hmm, well that could be Saturday sorted then…).

The outside of my building (do call before you pop round)

The outside of my building (do call before you pop round)

My main living area

My main living area

One of my two balconies

One of my two balconies

It is actually the apartment Julia used to rent but now she has moved on and I have taken it over. It is in a block of six and I believe that I may be the only non-Turkish person in the building. I haven’t met all my neighbours yet so I could be wrong – please don’t hold your breath waiting for me to find out – even after 14 years at my old place I knew the name of just one of my neighbours only because he introduced himself after calling the police out because he thought he might harm someone, most probably himself – ahh Gillingham, gotta love the place.

I do know that my neighbours are noisy but I find having a lack of understanding of the Turkish language is actually of benefit. Rather than think they are shouting and threatening to throw things at each other I prefer to think that they are just having an animated conversation about the weather – and I could well be right as the Turkish are very expressive in the way and the volume in which they speak.

The apartment is in a great location, being 5 minutes walk to the local supermarket and bus station and only 15 minutes walk to the gorgeous marina (and about a 10 minute walk from Fethiye football stadium so not too far for them to come for that shower).

Fethiyespor football team - where's my sponge

Fethiyespor football team – where’s my sponge?

It’s a good job I like it now that I’ve made this commit and, I guess, if the neighbours do end up killing each other I’ll just do the British thing and make myself a nice cup of tea until all the fuss has died down…

