Cougar

For the sake of this post, let’s assume a cougar is not a four legged wild animal, but a lady of a certain age who, ahem, enjoys the company of younger men.

If you read the UK papers you’ll know that Turkey has gained a certain reputation for the younger Turks dating the older, non-Turkish, ladies. In fact I know of a number of English ladies who have had, or are having, very fruitful, enjoyable and successful relationships with younger Turkish guys.

You do, of course, hear the terrible stories of other ladies handing over their retirement funds, life savings, any spare cash they have in order that the young man of their dreams can start their own empire…and a lot of these stories do not end well. Of course, the one’s that do work out are hardly going to make news headlines, not even on a slow day, so it’s wrong I think, to assume that absolutely all young Turkish men are out to make a quick buck.

You may wonder why I am showing such an interest in this? Well, my friends will know why but I’ll let the rest of you into a not-so-secret secret – although I may not wear high heels, short skirts and have nails longer than totally necessary, I am a cougar. Always have been (well, not always – being a cougar at 16 would have been highly illegal!).

When I was 22 I dated a 19 year old, I married a fella younger than me, the longest relationship I’ve had in the last 15 years was with someone 10 years my junior and I didn’t watch Twilight because of Taylor Lautner’s acting skills (good job really!).

I’ve occasionally dated men my age and even gone down the Sugar Daddy route once or twice but I always revert to my cougar tendancies in the end.

So if, sorry when, I hook up with a young Turkish waiter gentleman, don’t feel you need to warn me about the pitfalls, tell me to keep my eye on my money or think that I am a sad old woman who just wants to be loved. I’m not daft, I’ve got a good head on my shoulders, I know what I’m doing, I’ve done it before and I’ll no doubt do it again…but thanks for your concern, it is appreciated.

If anything, don’t pity me, pity him…because he’ll be the one that might not make it out alive!

Purr

