Yesterday I decided to go for a stroll. Well, why not, it was a nice day after a few days of rain and cloud (that wasn’t part of the deal of me moving to Turkey!).

Anyway, I found myself walking (staggering) up a very steep hill towards Fethiye’s famous Lycien Rock Tombs which were hand carved into the rock in the 4th Century BC (that makes them older than my mum!*) as a final resting place for the dignitaries of local Lycien society.

You can see a majority of them from the side of the road or you can pay 5 lira to go up some steep steps and get a closer look at one of the bigger ones. I am speaking from experience when I say flipflops might not be the best footwear for the final ascent!

What you can see from the road

What you can see from the road

The biggest tomb

The biggest tomb

Unfortunately, like many historial sites throughout the world, these tombs have not been safeguarded enough and were looted many many, many years ago (Tomb Raider, Angelina Jolie, you get my drift now?) and today they bear the scars of modern day graffiti. But, don’t let that put you off, it is still a fascinating sight.

I feel sadness over the graffiti

I feel sadness over the graffiti

Old vs New

Old vs New

One of the highlights for me wasn’t the actual tombs themselves, or the fact that an American on vacation offered me one of his tomatoes, but the view over Fethiye. The tombs are so high up that you can see most of the marina and town from up there. Sitting on the steps of the tomb, admiring the view, whilst eating your free tomato is definately not the worst way I’ve spent a Sunday afternoon.

The view over Fethiye

The view over Fethiye

The view over Fethiye marina

The view over Fethiye marina

*Sorry mum

