This part of Turkey has suffered it’s fair share of earthquakes, the most damaging one being in April 1957 that had a magnitude of 7.1. Luckily Fethiye was a lot smaller then so the fatalities, while still horrific, were a lot fewer than if it were to happen on that scale now.

Last year there was another slightly less tremoring (ok I made that word up) earthquake that didn’t cause any fatalities but it was still enough to bugger up the utility services and have people jumping from balconies. And, in fact, only yesterday morning a friend told me she was sure she felt a tremor at 6am that day.

I’ve been told that today’s buildings have been built to withstand this sort of thing but, after having a wander around Fethiye, I’m thinking maybe one or two didn’t quite get signed off…

P1020039 P1010862

I am sure the families who live in these apartments have adapted to their slightly precarious lifestyles…but I bet they fall out of bed more often…

