Did I ever mention that Downtown Vancouver is my absolute favourite place in the whole world (out of the one’s I’ve been to so far anyway!).

It has been chosen as the World’s “Most Liveable City” 8 times since 2002 and I wholeheartedly agree with the choice.

I first visited around 2000 but only stopped a few days on my way to visit the lakes and mountains in British Columbia. However, even that small visit captured my heart and I’ve been back 7 times since, once I even went on my own.

Not only is Downtown Vancouver a beautiful, clean, friendly city, but it is surrounded by a natural harbour, glorious mountains and populated by possibly some of the nicest people I’ve ever met. Yes, I know there are areas that are no-go zones, and there are homeless people but what city doesn’t have these problems. It certainly doesn’t detract from my joy at being there.

Even on a cloudy day the skyline is impressive

Even on a cloudy day the skyline is impressive

My absolute favourite place is Stanley Park, a 1,000 acre haven for wildlife, residents and visitors. It is situated on a peninsula at the northwest edge of Downtown Vancouver and you can spend many hours walking/cycling/roller skating around the sea wall, going on the miniature railway, visiting the aquarium and many other things. You may even spot a famous face or two as it is one of the most popular places in Vancouver for TV shows to be filmed. I think I might have even seen Castiel from Supernatural run past me once – I was tempted to run after him begging him to take me away from it all but I thought that might seem a tad desperate!

The view of Stanley Park from my hotel

The view of Stanley Park from my hotel

The Sea Wall walk in Stanley Park

The Sea Wall walk in Stanley Park

Playing hide and seek with the otter at the Aquarium

Playing hide and seek with the otter at the Aquarium

You can also visit Grouse Mountain where there are restaurants, shops, entertainment, lumberjacks (big muscly beefy ones at that), orphaned bears and a great view over Downtown. Mind you, between you and me, you might have to take out a second mortgage to afford the entrance fee – it certainly isn’t cheap. You can cut the cost though by doing the Grouse Grind – running (staggering breathlessly) up the mountain rather than catching the cable car.

One of the orphan bears on Grouse Mountain (I was grateful for the zoom lens!)

One of the orphan bears on Grouse Mountain (I was grateful for the zoom lens!)

I also highly recommend a visit to Capilano Suspension Bridge, where you can walk over the bridge itself, visit the treetop walk or be very brave and walk along the cliff walk which is a very narrow walkwalk attached to the side of a cliff – not for the feint-hearted. Not only that but it also has the best gift shop I’ve come across which is never a bad thing!

Capilano Suspension Bridge

Capilano Suspension Bridge

Doing my 'King of the World' impression on the cliff walk

Doing my ‘King of the World’ impression on the cliff walk

You can also go white water rafting on the Chilliwack River (isn’t that the best name for a river?), do a day trip to the ski resort of Whistler, see if you can spot some whales, take a sea plane to Victoria or simply meander around the shops and sights of Downtown itself.

And if you love eggs benedict as much as I do, pop into a White Spot restaurant for breakfast and fuel up for the day.

I will keep going back there again and again and one day, one day soon I hope, I might just come back with a mountie…

