As I’ve not done anything interesting to write about over the last few days – unless you think slouching around the house in your pjs is interesting – I thought I’d revisit one of my Bucket List achievements – the Bungy Jump, or 2 of them to be exact.

My first bungy was waaaayyyyy back in 1992 when a lot of you were probably still trying to work out how to get from a sitting to a standing position without the weight of your nappy holding you back.

I spent 3 months trundling around Australia with a friend and we started in Cairns in Queensland. Up until that point I’d been pretty unadventurous in my life but that was about to change with a rather rash decision to dive off a platform tied to nothing but an elastic band with a towel wrapped round my ankles, courtesy of A J Hackett. So there I was, on this platform, being sweet-talked by a couple of cute Aussie guys. “Where you from? What’s your name?” – ok, cut the crap and let’s get this over with, I’m crapping myself.

So with a 3, 2, 1 countdown and legs shaking I leapt into the unknown. ARRRGGGHHHH, oh god, I feel sick, hands together, hands together, HANDS together, hit the water, go under the water, splutter, bounce back up, oh god I feel sick again, bounce back down, which way is up, which way is down, wave at the camera, get lowered onto the boat waiting to rescue me, hyperventilate, burst out laughing, can I do it again please?

Bungy No. 1. Can I go now please?

Bungy No. 1. Can I go now please?

Where's the camera?

Where’s the camera?

Ok, I want to get down now

Ok, I want to get down now

And yes I did do it again, but not until I was in New Zealand at the very beginning of 2009, again courtesy of AJ Hackett at Kawarau Bridge in Queenstown. Obviously, at the grand old age of 38 there were more dangers involved, not least that I might put my back out…

But there I was again, all kitted out with my elastic band and towel, this time being jollied along by a couple of cute New Zealanders who seemed to think it was funny to mention that the elastic band needs changing after this jump as it has been used a lot. Hilarious guys, no really. It appeared that my leg shaking abilities had not improved in the intervening years and this time my hand had to be prised off the rail before I would go near the edge. Still did it though…I wasn’t going to let a small thing like 47 metres between me and the ground put me off.

Bungy No. 2. Do I really have to let go? You can't make me

Bungy No. 2. Do I really have to let go? You can’t make me

Arrgghhhh

Arrgghhhh

Phew, survived (again)

Phew, survived (again)

I still plan to do more bungy’s including the Nevis Bungy, again in Queenstown, that is a staggering 134 metres high. Makes the 47 metre one look like a step off the pavement doesn’t it? But even that isn’t that high compared to some but one step at a time huh (literally)?

