Oh it’s a hard life, this early retirement lark.

A friend came to visit me recently and it seemed only right that I treat her to a trip around the lovely bays of Fethiye.

The only problem with boat trips here is that there are so many to choose from. The boats are lined up like teenage girls at a One Direction concert. But I’d heard good reports of one particular boat – Happy Days – so thought we’d give it a try.

Looking for The Fonz!

Looking for The Fonz!

yy (3)

Our Happy Days boat

We joined around 19 other people and set sail at 10.30am on Monday. The boat didn’t travel far, only staying within the bays of Fethiye but it stopped 4 times in beautiful waters allowing the passengers to swim, dive or snorkel to their heart’s content – the one’s that weren’t trying to cook themselves anyway.

An opportunity to jump ship

An opportunity to jump ship

Nearly done!

Nearly done!

The buffet lunch (included in the price) was the best I’d tasted so far on one of these trips – it was the standard choice of chicken or fish, pasta, salad, potatoes and bread rolls but tasted a lot better than I’d come to expect. Although if you don’t like eating anything that looks like it might have recently climbed aboard then I recommend the chicken over the fish. It also happened to be someone’s birthday on the boat so we were treated to the added bonus of birthday cake.

Tucking in!

Tucking in!

There was also an onboard photographer who took some amazing shots. Mind you, he nearly went for an impromptu swim when he asked if my friend, who is only 12 years my junior, if she was my daughter.

DSC_0062

Watching me, watching you

DSC_0061

Taken by the professional photographer – and one of my better shots!

The only real casualty of the day is that my beloved protector of 7 years, my hat, is now sailing the ocean wave due to an unexpected gust of wind. Oh ok, it wasn’t unexpected, we had been warned to hold everything down as we turned into open water, but I disregarded the advice, serves me right.

I will definately use Happy Days again – the staff were lovely and not too in your face, the food was superb, the boat was uncrowded and quiet and they don’t always stop at the same places which means I just might get to see something new each time I do the trip.

There are plenty of others to choose from though. If you don’t want the quiet, relaxing type of trip there are also boats that offer loud music, drinking, party games and the like. In fact, while we were at one of the bays (thankfully just about to leave) we suddenly heard in the distance the dull thud of ‘Gangnam Style’ – then a HUGE boat appeared with scantily clad guys and girls partying away. Hideous (in my opinion) but each to their own…

Party boat has arrived!

Party boat has arrived!

