Seeing as Egypt is in the news a lot at the moment I thought I would share with you a good reason to go there once things have settled down a bit.

I visited about 6 or 7 years ago, oh hang on, it was actually 8 years ago – time flies and all that. Anyway, whilst there I ticked off one of my Bucket List items – visiting Tutankhamun’s tomb. The Pyramids and Sphinx are probably the most well known and visited sites in Egypt but I highly recommend visiting the Valley of the Kings where you can go into a variety of tombs and view some amazing hieroglyphics, many of which still retain their colour due to lack of exposure to the outside world.

Entrance to the Valley of the Kings

Entrance to the Valley of the Kings

Getting ready to go in (wearing my beloved hat I lost last week)

Getting ready to go in (wearing the beloved hat I lost last week)

Apparantly there is speculation that Tutankhamun was a result of incest, but then I think my cat, Scooby, is too so I won’t judge! And there is, of course, stories of the curse placed on anyone who enters the tomb but I have to say I am still feeling quite sprightly so I’m sure that this is just a myth.

I did what many visitors do when they go to Egypt and travelled down the Nile on a cruise for a few days. This allows you to sit and watch the world go by with a G&T in your hand whilst the sun is at it’s hottest. It does also mean that you will be woken up very early in the morning to visit a place of interest before the heat kicks in.

Watching life on the Nile pass by

Watching life on the Nile pass by

If you don’t want to visit every temple on offer (and there are a lot of them!) you absolutely have to make the effort to see Abu Simbel. Abu Simbel is HUGE, MASSIVE, which makes the fact that it was relocated in it’s entirety in the late 60’s due to the creation of Lake Nasser even more incredible – especially as in the UK we can’t even move a bus without things going wrong.

Abu Simbel

Abu Simbel

So get yourself over there at some point and have a G&T for me…

