Seeing as I have been going through a phase of sharing things I’ve already completed on my Bucket List I thought I’d carry on and tell you about the time I ticked off no. 21 -‘go on a safari’.

Holidays are what I spend a majority of my money on. I barely drink, or smoke, I don’t party until the early hours so I have to find something to spend my disposable income on. I’m not a sun worshipper (she says, sitting on her balcony in Turkey with a sore back from sitting in the sun too long the other day!) and I’m not a fan of resorts that cater to the more sociable of those among us so I always look to do something a little more interesting, a lot more out of the ordinary and a little more (unfortunately) expensive.

I had the good fortune to travel to the Tsavo East National Park in Kenya a few years ago and loved every minute of it. The resort I stayed in (the name currently escapes me) was wonderful, the views were incredible and the service was second to none. I tend to drink a lot of Coke and found myself faintly amused when one of the waiters came round with his usual pot of coffee one breakfast time and had filled a pot up with Coke especially for me.

IMG_1901

Finally made it to the Park after HOURS of travelling

Our resort

Our resort in the distance

Of course, going on a safari means one thing, ok two things – seeing animals in their natural habitat and getting up very early to do so. We’d depart at the crack of dawn in the hope of seeing some of the local wildlife still sleeping or just about to start their daily routine.

We saw so many elephants and giraffe that you actually started to get rather casual about the whole thing, ‘oh, another elephant, great’. Although from a distance it was sometimes hard to identify an animal – you’d be surprised how many times we saw anthills and thought they were elephants – to be fair, they were big anthills!

Mum & baby going for a morning stroll

Mum & baby going for a morning stroll

Is this my good side?

Is this my good side?

A zebra crossing?

A zebra crossing?

We were lucky enough to get a glimpse of some really special animals as well although, understandably, we kept our distance!

I know how to keep safe!

I know how to keep safe!

Heading off on a morning stroll

Heading off on a morning stroll

Waiting for breakfast, which I hoped wasn't us

Waiting for breakfast, which I hoped wasn’t us

We also had a few days at a resort in Mombasa. It was one of the all inclusive types so could have been anywhere but it was nice to just sit and relax for a few days.

Of course, there is also a walking safari on my Bucket List but I guess I need to get a bit fitter, a bit lighter on my feet for that one…just in case!

