I’ve got nice friends – well I wouldn’t want nasty one’s would I?

But even better is the fact that I’ve got nice friends with homes in exotic locations – I guess you could say I’ve become one of those nice friends myself! If we are to judge friends by their choice of homes then the winner has to be my friend of over 20 years who has a gorgeous, beautiful, amazing villa in St Kitts in the Caribbean – and I’ve had the good fortune to go there twice.

The first time, I went with my sister and our mutual friends, Cheryl and Liz (Liz, by the way has got an awesome blog – The Blog Of Happy Thingsย – she is almost, yes almost, as funny as me!). We arrived on one of the few direct flights, picked up our little hire car which we named Pedro and headed to the villa. I still remember walking through the front door and being able to see the ocean through the rear balcony windows. We burst through the balcony doors giggling like a bunch of school girls and I distinctly recall calling my friend, the owner, back in the UK and asking him if I could marry him (I wasn’t going to let a small thing like the fact he was already married stand in my way). Wisely he turned down my offer but he definately earned a few extra friendship points.

Breakfast on the terrace

Breakfast on the terrace

Time to get rid of that pasty white skintone

Time to get rid of that pasty white skintone

St Kitts is not hugely visited by British tourists. They tend to migrate more towards the Dominican Republic, Antigua and St Lucia but that doesn’t mean there aren’t some big hotels. In fact, St Kitts caters for the American tourist industry so the hotels are, in typical American fashion, really BIG but they are useful to visit as you can often arrange your day trips through them.

The capital, Basseterre

The Capital, Basseterre

We spent an idyllic week roaming the island, sitting on empty beaches, sitting by the plunge pool, listening to the waves crashing against the shore which was a mere few metres from our terrace, and watching the cruise ships go by as the sun went down.

Just one of the beautiful beaches

Just one of the beautiful beaches

Liz likes a nice sunset so you can always guarantee a decent shot

Liz likes a nice sunset so you can always guarantee a decent shot

We also went over to Nevis on a catamaran and I admit it, I fell in love, for the duration of the catamaran trip anyway, with one of the guys running the trip. I may be bigging myself up here but I am sure I was getting the vibe that he was up for getting naked a bit later on that evening but I didn’t take him up on the offer, not because he probably does it every day, but because sometimes someone can just seem too handsome and out of my league, and I was damned if I was going to spend the whole experience holding in my stomach and trying to keep my cellulite under wraps!

Making friends with the guys on the catamaran

Making friends with the guys on the catamaran

Sing along now – ‘sisters are doing it for themselves’

Falling in love, sigh!

Falling in love, sigh!

Sunshine's Bar in Nevis, a popular choice for a drink but don't order the Killer Bee!

Sunshine’s Bar in Nevis, a popular choice for a drink but don’t order the Killer Bee!

I got the chance to revisit St Kitts a few years later when my friend’s parents were living out there for a while. They used to own a hotel in the UK so, as you can imagine, I was spoilt rotten and fed really well. I did have one conversation with them while I was there about not liking fish unless it was battered so they came up with an ingenious idea of sprinkling crisps (I think) on the fish before I ate it. I wasn’t fooled but it tasted pretty good. We would have breakfast on the terrace that lasted 3 hours, eating fresh fruit that was growing in the garden whilst keeping a beady eye on the local monkeys that liked to sit on the wall.

The view from high up in St Kitts

The view from high up in St Kitts

Turn another corner, another view

Turn another corner, get another view

The only downside of that particular visit was that the airline I flew with, XL, went bust when I was out there. In fact, that wasn’t the downside – the downside was that an alternative solution to getting home was sorted out the very same day so I didn’t get stranded there for a few extra nights – shame.

My wonderful hosts on trip no. 2

My wonderful hosts on trip no. 2

I hope to go back one day, and am sure I will, although my friend still won’t marry me…

If I pretend to be a statue can I stay here?

If I pretend to be a statue can I stay here?

