It’s been a while since I ticked something off my Bucket List and I figured it was time I did something about it. So today, as the sun started to dip below the mountains I completed no. 48 – Microlighting.

Me and my pal, Julia, trundled up to Fly South Turkey in Ovacik and whilst we waited for our flights we were entertained by Charles who apparently has done and seen everything – from biking round the world for 10 years to smuggling gold into some country or other.

Then the time came (loosely translated as my pilot turned up!) and we were introduced to said pilots – mine was Erdoğan Şanslı (he did anglisize his Turkish name for us simple English folk though, plus I just found out his surname means Lucky which I think is a pretty good name for his line of work!) – erm, bugger, lost my train of thought, where was I? Ah yes, we were then given fleeces to snuggle up in & strapped into our microlights.

1 microlight, no pilot

1 microlight, no pilot

The man I trusted with my life!

Bumpity, bump, bump, we made our way across the ‘airstrip’ (piece of grass) and then the pilots floored it and we went tearing down the runway, just rising into the air before meeting a sticky end in a bush.

What followed was 25 minutes of wind (not mine!), cold and some of the most amazing views I’ve ever seen. Of course, the fact that this happened at sunset made the experience all the more stunning – mountains glowing as the sun hit them on the way down, the resorts below lit up in all their finery, my friend’s microlight just a black silhouette against the sky, me starting to worry if we’d ever find the runway in total darkness…

Just before sunset

Just before sunset

And during

And during sunset

Julia flying into the night

Julia flying into the night

Shouldn't we be turning left by now?

Shouldn’t we be turning left by now?

Hisaronu in darkness

Hisaronu in darkness

So what did I learn about microlighting? Well, I learnt that I loved it and WILL be doing it again, that it’s hard to take non-blurry photos when you are being buffeted by the wind, that the on-ground team are even more crap at taking photos than I am, and that there are more unpleasant situations to be in where you might find yourself straddling a man from behind…

You'll have to trust me when I say this is me and my pilot!

You’ll have to trust me when I say this is me and my pilot!

 

