‘I’m glad I did it, partly because it was worth it, but mostly because I shall never have to do it again’ – Mark Twain

If you’ve been following me (by that I mean my blog, not stalking) you’ll know that I recently came back from a Supernatural Convention in Toronto.

Well, I didn’t go there just to lust after some perfectly formed, very tall actors (well, ok I did), but I also decided to tick off another of my Bucket List items –  no. 75: do the CN Tower Edgewalk.

I do have to ask myself why I decided it would be a good idea to walk round the outside of a building, on a ledge no wider than a footpath, a ledge that was 356m from the ground. But unfortunately I didn’t ask that question before I booked myself in, only after.

So, there I was, in the beautiful city of Toronto, where there is plenty to do on the ground, dressed in a red jumpsuit and black pumps, covered in enough straps and ties that would have gained me immediate entry to a bondage party.

Ready to go? Well, no actually

Ready to go? Well, no actually

After a quick briefing (too quick if you ask me!), myself and the other 5 victims stepped into the lift to a round of applause from the people doing the walk after us – ha! bet they were laughing on the other side of their faces an hour later! Next thing we knew, we were having more straps and bolts attached to us and then the door to the outside world opened and the whole of Toronto came into view.

Guess who was first to go out? It was bloody me wasn’t it? How the hell did that happen? Anyway, I went with the flow (like I had a choice!) and strolled casually, or at least as casually as you can when your knees are wobbling, out onto the mesh walkway. I had to wait patiently for the others to join me and I looked everywhere except down – no way was I looking in that direction!

Ahh f**k!

Ahh f**k!

Then the fun really began. Our guide, Kyle, started putting us through our paces. First we had to walk to the edge, put our toes over and our hands out. Hmm, not too bad, I can cope with this. Then on to the next step – go to the edge, sit down in your harness, lean backwards and let go of the rope. LET GO OF THE ROPE? LET GO OF THE…oh bloody hell. So, I let go of the rope.

Yeah, easy...honest

Yeah, easy…honest

As if that wasn’t enough, we then had to do the ‘titanic’ move. Again, go to the edge, but this time lean forward, and let go of the bloody rope again. But I did that too.  Aren’t I brave?

Then thankfully it was almost over, we’d done the full circuit of the tower in 35 minutes and it was nearly time to go back to the safety of indoors. But no…there was one more thing – the photo shoot. So we all had to lean back at the same time, strike a casual pose and smile for the camera. The only thing that was casual about the whole thing was the evil, smiling Kyle. But again, we did it. Now can we go in. PLEASE?

This is when you find out who your true friends are!

This is when you find out who your true friends are!

Once I was back in and the adrenalin had stopped there was really only one more thing to say – “Can I do it again please?”

P1020531

 

 

 

 

 

 

And just to finish off, here’s a little snippet of what the evil Kyle put us through:

