As most of you know, I started volunteering at the 3C’s Children’s Charity in Çalış earlier in the year.

I didn’t plan to get overly involved but then I found myself agreeing to do things I never would have thought of doing – the first being dressing up as Mother Santa at the annual Christmas Fair.

I thought that would be it but the buggers got me again and I found myself agreeing to do the New Year’s Day ‘Splash’ – 5 minutes up to my neck in the sea, on 1st January – yeah, sure, no problem.

So, there I was, with a bunch of other daft individuals, dressed up in a costume and being watched by 100 or so people. The countdown began…5, 4, 3, 2, 1…and surprisingly we all ran in – I guess it’s a bit like taking a plaster off, always better to do it quickly.

P1020978

Anyway, turns out it wasn’t so bad, well not until I reached the sudden drop in the sea and found myself not being able to touch the bottom – I sure didn’t want to go that far!

DSCN0421DSC_0388-1

George, one of the Committee, kindly let us know how long we had been in there…1 minute, 2 minutes, 3 minutes, 4 minutes and finally, 5 minutes.

DSC_0406

Well, I can tell you I have never been so happy to accept a hot water bottle off someone although, I guess unsurprisingly, no-one wanted to give me a hug – can’t think why.

Anyway, it’s done now, I enjoyed it and we raised a decent amount of money for the charity but for Pete’s sake, if anyone sees me agreeing to something like this again, give me a slap, preferably a hard one…

