Unbelievably it was exactly 1 year ago today that I was sitting in a cold, dark flat in Kent, kitties in a crate, waiting for a nice man called Mark to pick us all up and take us to Gatwick to begin a new chapter in our lives – living in Fethiye, Turkey.

20140226_162602 (1)

Well, what a year it’s been. Myself and the kitties have settled into a lovely apartment, and figured out a way of getting into said apartment whilst avoiding the over-friendly Turkish lady that lives downstairs. I’ve met some wonderful people, both Turkish and British, with a Russian thrown in for luck.

20140315_215020DSCN0386

I’ve become involved with a great charity. I’ve started smoking (again) and given up (again). I’ve lost weight. I’ve started doing yoga with a sadistic teacher called Suzie as well as doing Thai Chi with a slightly less sadistic teacher called Jane. I’ve swam in the sea on New Year’s Day. I’ve walked off a mountain. I’ve got two more tattoos. I’ve been on more boat trips than I can count. I’ve purchased a pushbike and learnt how to avoid the erratic Turkish traffic and, probably most significantly, I’ve fallen in love, with both a motorbike and a human being.

I’ve visited some great places in Turkey, including Kayakoy and Ephesus & Pamukkale and I’ve got some great overseas holidays coming up including Hawaii and Nashville & Memphis. Plus I’ve got a few bucket list items to look forward to – visiting Istanbul, horse-riding and flying over a volcano to name but a few – which I’ll bore you with when they happen.

There is no doubt that this move is one of the best things I’ve ever done so if you are sitting there, reading this, thinking about something you really want to do, then go for it, don’t make excuses, don’t hold yourself back for the sake of a mortgage that needs to be paid – there are ways around anything if you try hard enough.

Roll on the next year…

