Recently the legendary Glen Campbell released his final track ‘I’m Not Gonna Miss You’ where he talks about his battle with  Alzheimer’s. My mother’s love of ‘our Glen’ meant that I grew up with an appreciation of country music which led, in turn, to my own passion for the genre.

So, it should come as no surprise that a visit to the Grand Ole Opry in Nashville was no 83 on my Bucket List and, of course, I couldn’t go without my mum.

We stayed at the Gaylord Opryland Resort which, as you’d expect with any hotel with the name ‘land’ in it, was like Disney on speed. The ruddy place was enormous although I did feel a sense of being let down at the lack of Gay Lords prancing around but hey ho.

P1030920Anyway, during our stay we had a night planned at the Grand Ole Opry. For those of you who don’t know, the Opry stages a live radio show showcasing the music of old (very old!) and new country singers. Ma and I, along with a number of the other travellers within our tour group headed off to the Opry and waited with bated breath to see what acts we would be introduced to. It was whilst waiting that I started making conversation with an English couple who were on our tour only to discover that the lady didn’t like tattoos (of which I have 5) or Americans (erm…).

P1030928

Luckily I was saved from pointing out the obvious by the start of the show, and what a show it was.

P1030945

There was a gent on the mic who read out the ads in between acts, 2 hosts and about 20 acts. Quite a few of the acts were old timers who surprised me by not only living through their sets but by how much energy they put into them. Considering how much I groan just when I’m getting off the sofa nowadays, I can definitely say they put me to shame.

P1030963

There were of course some younger acts too including one of the cast of the TV series ‘Nashville’ and a rather pleasant looking chap called Chuck Wicks that had my mum considering trading in Tim McGraw for a younger version.

P1030967

All in all it was a cracking night and it turned out it was also one of the last times that George Hamilton IV would play live as he passed away just last month.

And if that doesn’t make you feel a little weepy then check out Glen’s last single…

