It’s been a little over 2 years now since I found Cookie dumped in the gutter at the local animal shelter, aged just 10 weeks old. I’m just glad I was volunteering that day and that she chose me to be her forever mummy.

Fast forward to now and it seems I’m no longer her best friend. I’ve been usurped by a puppy.

The story started about 2 months ago. I’d recently moved to a lovely rental property with a huge, I repeat, HUGE, garden, perfect for an energetic, growing dog. A few months later and it seems that the arrival of a four legged tenant in the local vicinity gave the neighbouring Turkish family food for thought and before I knew it, Paşa (pronounced Pasha) arrived – all ears and not much else.

Now, even though our gardens are not connected other than via a locked gate, it seems that Paşa is a bit of a Houdini. Apparantly 6 month old puppies can get through 1 inch holes in garden fences – who knew.

So began the daily battle of trying to stop him coming into my garden. A battle I well and truly lost. So, instead of upping my game I just gave in and went with the flow. I even started putting out a little food and water for him should be need it.

Of course, Cookie was hugely in favour of letting Paşa in. After all, what could be better than a little playmate to chase around the garden, a little playmate to box around the ears when his enthusiasm gets a bit much, a little playmate to tussle with and share (or not share) your favourite toy with.

However, little Paşa has started getting brave – first it was one foot in the door, then the other, then the bum, then the tail. He’d sneak in when I wasn’t looking and steal Cookie’s food. I’d find him sitting in the hall when I came out of the bathroom, silly grin on his face, ears flapping excitedly. And does Cookie mind? Of course she doesn’t. She loves her new friend. Unfortunately I’m not sure that Peg, my 3 legged cat, feels quite the same way!

Paşa is going to grow into a large dog as he’s partially Kangal so, personally, I’m relieved I’m on his good side.

I’m glad my baby girl has got a new best friend, even if it is costing me double in treats. But I’ll always be her forever mummy and I’m happy with that…

